Wednesday, December 31, 1997

1997 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: In 1997 the Libertarian Futurist Society continued their idolization of Robert A. Heinlein by inducting fourth of his novels overall and the second one in two years into their Hall of Fame. This seems appropriate, as many of Heinlein's novel display something of a libertarian streak. But as more and more of Heinlein's novels are inducted into the Prometheus Awards' Hall of Fame, it becomes increasingly apparent just how much the subgenre of "libertarian science fiction" is defined by Heinlein's work - to the extent that what many people consider "libertarian science fiction" to be is "what Robert A. Heinlein wrote", despite the fact that this would be a terribly flawed definition.

Best Novel

Kings of the High Frontier by Victor Koman

Other Nominees:
Firestar by Michael F. Flynn
Paths to Otherwhere by James P. Hogan
Sliders by Brad Linaweaver
Wildside by Steven Gould

Hall of Fame

Methuselah's Children by Robert A. Heinlein

Other Nominees:
Emphyrio by Jack Vance
Little Fuzzy by H. Beam Piper
Oath of Fealty by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle
A Planet for Texans (aka Lonestar Planet) by H. Beam Piper and John J. McGuire

Go to previous year's nominees: 1996
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1998

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment