Wednesday, December 31, 2003

2003 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: In 2003 Nancy Kress became only the third woman to win the Campbell Award with her novel Probability Space, a follow-on to her previously nominated novel Probability Sun. Of all of the major science fiction awards, the Campbell Award seems to be the most hostile to female authors overall, for reasons that are not entirely clear. Through the history of the award, very few women have been nominated - in 2003, out of ten finalists, only two were written by women - and even fewer have won, a result that seems problematic given the many excellent works of science fiction that have been produced by women during its existence.

Best Novel

Probability Space by Nancy Kress

Second Place:
Kiln People by David Brin

Third Place:
Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer

Bones of the Earth by Michael Swanwick
Dark Ararat by Brian Stableford
The Golden Age by John C. Wright
Lion's Blood by Steven Barnes
The Separation by Christopher Priest
The Visitor by Sheri S. Tepper
Vitals by Greg Bear

Go to previous year's nominees: 2002
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2004

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment