Monday, February 2, 1970

Nebula Award Winners for Best Script/Dramatic Presentation (and Special Awards)

While the other categories handed out by the Nebula voters have been consistently bestowed since the award's inception in 1966, the award for Best Script/Dramatic Presentation has been granted haphazardly. The award was not created until 1974, and since then it has only been bestowed a total of fourteen times, with ten of those being handed out after 2000. Although the award is technically designed to honor both movie and television scripts, no television script ever won the award during its lifetime. The award was discontinued in 2010 and replaced with the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation.

The 1978 award bestowed upon Star Wars that is listed here is actually not for Best Script/Best Dramatic Presentation, but is instead a Special Award. Given that a Special Award has only been handed out by the Nebula voters this one time, and the award went to a work that would have technically been eligible for this award, I listed it here rather than create an entire page just to highlight the one instance that the Special Award was handed out.

1974: Soylent Green
1975: Sleeper
1976: Young Frankenstein
1977: No Award
1978: Star Wars [technically a Special Award]
2000: The Sixth Sense
2001: Galaxy Quest
2002: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
2003: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
2004: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
2005: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
2006: Serenity
2007: Howl's Moving Castle
2008: Pan's Labyrinth
2009: WALL-E

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment