Sunday, February 1, 1970

Hugo Winners for Best Related Work

The Hugo Award for best related Work has been given every year since 1980, with one "Retro Hugo" having been given in 2004 for the year 1954. The award honors the best work related to the field of science fiction, fantasy, or fandom which is either non-fiction or noteworthy primarily for reasons other than any fiction it may contain. The award has most often been given to biographies and genre related encyclopedias, although this is by no means universal. This does appear to be the Hugo Award for which the winners consistently have the longest title names.

Clicking on the year will take you to a page listing all of the nominees for the Hugo Award for that year. Three novels have been awarded "Retro Hugos", and are listed here in red, with the year the award was actually given the award noted in parenthesis.

1945: The Science-Fiction Field by Leigh Brackett (awarded in 2020)
1954: Conquest of the Moon by Wernher von Braun, Fred L. Whipple, and Willy Ley (awarded in 2004)
1980: The Science Fiction Encyclopedia by Peter Nicholls
1981: Cosmos by Carl Sagan
1982: Danse Macabre by Stephen King
1983: Isaac Asimov: The Foundations of Science Fiction by James E. Gunn
1984: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Vol. 3: Miscellaneous by Donald H. Tuck
1985: Wonder's Child: My Life in Science Fiction by Jack Williamson
1986: Science Made Stupid by Tom Weller
1987: Trillion Year Spree by Brian Aldiss and David Wingrove
1988: Michael Whelan's Works of Wonder by Michael Whelan
1989: The Motion of Light in Water: Sex and Science Fiction in the East Village 1957-1965 by Samuel R. Delany
1990: The World  Beyond the Hill: Science Fiction and the Quest for Transcendence by Alexei Panshin and Corey Panshin
1991: How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card
1992: The World of Charles Addams by Charles Addams
1993: A Wealth of Fable: An Informal History of Science Fiction Fandom in the 1950s by Harry Warner, Jr.
1994: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction by John Clute and Peter Nicholls
1995: I. Asimov: A Memoir by Isaac Asimov
1996: Science Fiction: The Illustrated Science Fiction by John Clute
1997: Time & Chance: An Autobiography by L. Sprague de Camp
1998: The Encyclopedia of Fantasy by John Clute and John Grant
1999: The Dreams Our Stuff Is Made Of: How Science Fiction Conquered the World by Thomas Disch
2000: Science Fiction of the 20th Century by Frank M. Robinson
2001: Greetings from Earth: The Art of Bob Eggleton by Bob Eggleton and Nigel Suckling
2002: The Art of Chesley Bonestell by Ron Miller, Frederick C. Durant III, and Melvin H. Schuetz
2003: Better to Have Loved: The Life of Judith Merril by Judith Merril and Emily Pohl-Weary
2004: The Chesley Awards for SF & Fantasy Art: A Retrospective by John Grant, Elizabeth L. Humphrey, and Pamela D. Scoville
2005: The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction by Edward James and Farah Mendelsohn
2006: Storyteller: Writing Lessons and More from 27 Years of the Clarion Writers' Workshop by Kate Wilhelm
2007: James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon by Julie Phillips
2008: Brave New Worlds: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher
2009: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008 by John Scalzi
2010: This Is Me, Jack Vance! (Or More Properly, This Is "I") by Jack Vance
2011: Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O'Shea
2012: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls, and Graham Sleight
2013: Writing Excuses Season Seven by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson
2014: We Have Always Fought: Challenging the "Women, Cattle and Slaves" Narrative by Kameron Hurley (reviewed in The Geek Feminist Revolution)
2015: No Award
2016: No Award
2017: Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016 by Ursula K. Le Guin
2018: No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters by Ursula K. Le Guin
2019: Archive of Our Own a project of the Organization for Transformative Works
2020: 2019 John W. Campbell Award Acceptance Speech by Jeannette Ng

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment