Sunday, February 1, 1970

Hugo Winners for Best Graphic Story

This award was instituted in 2009, and is intended to honor the best science fiction or fantasy story told in graphic form. The award in its early years was dominated by Phil and Kaja Foglio's Girl Genius series, so much so that in 2012 they announced that they would refuse any nomination in order to demonstrate that the award was viable, and not just the Agatha Heterodyne show.

As side note, the Alan Moore graphic novel Watchmen did not win this award, or the Hugo Award for Best Novel. It did not win this award for the simple reason that the Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story had not been created yet, and it did not win the award for Best Novel because it was not a novel. What the Watchmen graphic novel did win was a special Hugo Award, implemented specifically to award that work.

1941: Batman #1 (awarded in 2016)
1944: Wonder Woman #5: Battle for Womanhood written by William Multon Marsden, art by Harry G. Peter (awarded in 2019)
1945: Superman: The Mysterious Mr. Mxyztplk by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster (awarded in 2020)
2009: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones by Phil Foglio and Kaja Foglio
2010: Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm by Phil Foglio and Kaja Foglio
2011: Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse by Phil Foglio and Kaja Foglio
2012: Digger by Ursula Vernon
2013: Saga, Volume One written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples
2014: Time by Randall Munroe
2016: The Sandman: Overture written by Neil Gaiman, art by J.H. Williams, III
2018: Monstress, Volume Two: The Blood written by Marjorie M. Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda
2019: Monstress, Volume Three: Haven written by Marjorie Liu; art by Sana Takeda
2020: LaGuardia written by Nnedi Okorafor, art by Tana Ford, colors by James Devlin

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment