Friday, February 6, 1970

Locus Award Winners for Best Fantasy Novel

After experimenting with the idea of a Best Fantasy Novel award in 1978 with an honor for J.R.R. Tolkien's Silmarillion, the Locus Awards decided to make this a permanent award in 1980, splitting the previously awarded Best Novel award into two categories. Beginning in 1980 and continuing to the present, the Locus award for Best Fantasy Novel has been awarded in parallel with the award for Best Science Fiction Novel.

1978: The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
1980: Harpist in the Wind by Patricia A. McKillip
1981: Lord Valentine's Castle by Robert Silverberg
1982: The Claw of the Conciliator by Gene Wolfe
1983: The Sword of the Lictor by Gene Wolfe
1984: The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
1985: Job: A Comedy of Justice by Robert A. Heinlein
1986: Trumps of Doom by Roger Zelazny
1987: Soldier of the Mist by Gene Wolfe
1988: Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card
1989: Red Prophet by Orson Scott Card
1990: Prentice Alvin by Orson Scott Card
1991: Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
1992: Beauty by Sheri S. Tepper
1993: Last Call by Tim Powers
1994: The Innkeeper's Song by Peter S. Beagle
1995: Brittle Innings by Michael Bishop
1996: Alvin Journeyman by Orson Scott Card
1997: A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
1998: Earthquake Weather by Tim Powers
1999: A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
2000: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
2001: A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
2002: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2003: The Scar by China Miéville
2004: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2005: Iron Council by China Miéville
2006: Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
2007: The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner
2008: Making Money by Terry Pratchett
2009: Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin
2010: The City & the City by China Miéville
2011: Kraken by China Miéville
2012: A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin
2013: The Apocalypse Codex by Charles Stross
2014: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
2016: Uprooted by Naomi Novik
2017: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
2018: The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin
2019: Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment