Monday, February 2, 1970

Nebula Award Winners for Best Novel

Like all of the Nebula Awards, the award for Best Novel was intended to be more "literary" than the fan-voted Hugo Awards. In practice, while there has been some variance between the awards over the years, the same novel is honored by both often enough to either validate the taste of the hoi polloi who vote for the Hugos, or call into question the literary bona fides of the Nebula voters. I'm not sure which.

Unlike the Hugo awards, which started off in sputters and took time before the categories were more or less settled, the Nebula Awards took shape quickly, and the Best Novel Award is no exception. The award was given out in the first Nebula Awards ceremony, and has been bestowed every year since then.

1966: Dune by Frank Herbert
1967: (tie) Babel-17 by Samuel R. Delany
          (tie) Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
1968: The Einstein Intersection by Samuel R. Delany
1969: Rite of Passage by Alexei Panshin
1970: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
1971: Ringworld by Larry Niven
1972: A Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg
1973: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1974: Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
1975: The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
1976: The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
1977: Man Plus by Frederik Pohl
1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1979: Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre
1980: The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke
1981: Timescape by Gregory Benford
1982: The Claw of the Conciliator by Gene Wolfe
1983: No Enemy But Time by Michael Bishop
1984: Startide Rising by David Brin
1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
1986: Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
1987: Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
1988: The Falling Woman by Pat Murphy
1989: Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold
1990: The Healer's War by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1991: Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
1992: Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
1993: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
1994: Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1995: Moving Mars by Greg Bear
1996: The Terminal Experiment by Robert J. Sawyer
1997: Slow River by Nicola Griffith
1998: The Moon and the Sun by Vonda N. McIntyre
1999: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
2000: Parable of the Talents by Octavia E. Butler
2001: Darwin's Radio by Greg Bear
2002: The Quantum Rose by Catherine Asaro
2003: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2004: The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon
2005: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2006: Camouflage by Joe Haldeman
2007: Seeker by Jack McDevitt
2008: The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon
2009: Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin
2010: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
2011: Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis
2012: Among Others by Jo Walton
2013: 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson
2014: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
2015: Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer
2016: Uprooted by Naomi Novik
2017: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
2018: The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin
2019: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal
2020: TBD

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment