Thursday, February 5, 1970

John W. Campbell Award Winners for Best Novel

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award has only one category, and this is it, although in 1974 the jury handed out a special award for Best Nonfiction Book to The Cosmic Connection by Carl Sagan. This means that there is usually only one Campbell Award winner every year, as opposed to honors like the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards which have multiple categories, and thus multiple winners each year.

This award has been bestowed every year since 1973, when it was created to honor the late John W. Campbell, Jr. The award has resulted in four ties, and two "No Winner" results. The first "No Winner" result was in 1976, when the selection jury decided that there were no outstanding science fiction novels produced that year, although they did honor the 1970 Wilson Tucker novel The Year of the Quiet Sun with a Retrospective Award. In 1994 no award was given apparently due to problems with the nominating process.

1973: Beyond Apollo by Barry N. Malzberg
1974: (tie) Malevil by Robert Merle
          (tie) Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
1975: Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said by Philip K. Dick
1976: No Winner
1977: The Alteration by Kingsley Amis
1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1979: Gloriana by Michael Moorcock
1980: On Wings of Song by Thomas M. Disch
1981: Timescape by Gregory Benford
1982: Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban
1983: Helliconia Spring by Brian W. Aldiss
1984: The Citadel of the Autarch by Gene Wolfe
1985: The Years of the City by Frederik Pohl
1986: The Postman by David Brin
1987: A Door Into Ocean by Joan Slonczewski
1988: Lincoln's Dreams by Connie Willis
1989: Islands in the Net by Bruce Sterling
1990: The Child Garden by Geoff Ryman
1991: Pacific Edge by Kim Stanley Robinson
1992: Buddy Holly Is Alive and Well on Ganymede by Bradley Denton
1993: Brother to Dragons by Charles Sheffield
1994: No Winner
1995: Permutation City by Greg Egan
1996: The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter
1997: Fairyland by Paul J. McAuley
1998: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1999: Brute Orbits by George Zebrowski
2000: A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge
2001: Genesis by Poul Anderson
2002: (tie) The Chronoliths by Robert Charles Wilson
          (tie) Terraforming Earth by Jack Williamson
2003: Probability Space by Nancy Kress
2004: Omega by Jack McDevitt
2005: Market Forces by Richard Morgan
2006: Mindscan by Robert J. Sawyer
2007: Titan by Ben Bova
2008: In War Times by Kathleen Ann Goonan
2009: (tie) Song of Time by Ian R. MacLeod
          (tie) Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
2010: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
2011: The Dervish House by Ian McDonald
2012: (tie) The Islanders by Christopher Priest
          (tie) The Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewski
2013: Jack Glass by Adam Roberts
2014: Strange Bodies by Marcel Theroux
2015: The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North
2016: Radiomen by Eleanor Lerman
2017: Central Station by Lavie Tidhar
2018: The Genius Plague by David Walton
2019: Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment