Friday, February 6, 1970

Locus Award Winners for Best Novelette

This award is to honor works of fiction between 7,500 and 17,500 words in length. As with all the other Locus awards, the award for Best Novelette was originally conceived as an aid to Hugo Award voters. The award did have a modest amount of overlap with the Hugo awards for the first few years, but since then the Locus awards have drifted to being more generalized, and included much more fantasy and horror elements in their ambit.

1975: Adrift Just Off the Islets of Langerhans: Latitude 38° 54' N, Longitude 77° 00' 13" W by Harlan Ellison (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3, Book 2)
1976: The New Atlantis by Ursula K. Le Guin
1977: The Bicentennial Man by Isaac Asimov
1979: The Barbie Murders by John Varley
1980: Sandkings by George R.R. Martin
1981: The Brave Little Toaster by Thomas M. Disch (reviewed in Fantasy & Science Fiction: Volume 116, Nos. 4 & 5 (April/May 2009))
1982: Guardians by George R.R. Martin
1983: Djinn, No Chaser by Harlan Ellison
1984: The Monkey Treatment by George R.R. Martin
1985: Bloodchild by Octavia E. Butler
1986: Paladin of the Lost Hour by Harlan Ellison
1987: Thor Meets Captain America by David Brin
1988: Rachel in Love by Pat Murphy
1989: The Function of Dream Sleep by Harlan Ellison
1990: Dogwalker by Orson Scott Card
1991: Entropy's Bed at Midnight by Dan Simmons
1992: All Dracula's Children by Dan Simmons
1993: Danny Goes to Mars by Pamela Sargent
1994: Death in Bangkok by Dan Simmons
1995: The Martian Child by David Gerrold
1996: When the Old Gods Die by Mike Resnick
1997: Mountain Ways by Ursula K. Le Guin
1998: Newsletter by Connie Willis
1999: (tie) The Planck Dive by Greg Egan
          (tie) Taklamakan by Bruce Sterling
2000: (tie) Huddle by Stephen Baxter
          (tie) Border Guards by Greg Egan
2001: The Birthday of the World by Ursula K. Le Guin
2002: Hell Is the Absence of God by Ted Chiang
2003: The Wild Girls by Ursula K. Le Guin
2004: A Study in Emerald by Neil Gaiman
2005: (tie) The Faery Handbag by Kelly Link
          (tie) Reports of Certain Events in London by China MiĆ©ville
2006: I, Robot by Cory Doctorow
2007: When Sysadmins Ruled the Earth by Cory Doctorow
2008: The Witch's Headstone by Neil Gaiman
2009: Pump Six by Paolo Bacigalupi
2010: By Moonlight by Peter S. Beagle
2011: The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman
2012: White Lines on a Green Field by Catherynne M. Valente
2013: The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi by Pat Cadigan
2014: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
2015: Tough Times All Over by Joe Abercrombie
2016: Black Dog by Neil Gaiman
2017: You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay by Alyssa Wong
2018: The Hermit of Houston by Samuel R. Delany
2019: The Only Harmless Great Thing by Brooke Bolander

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment