Friday, February 6, 1970

Locus Award Winners for Best Novella

The Locus Award for Best Novella honors works of fiction of between 17,500 and 40,000 words. Although the list of winners for this award shares a small amount of overlap with the Hugo and Nebula Award winners, for the most part the lists are very different. One noticeable fact is that there are very few "classic" science fiction authors such as Robert A. Heinlein, Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, or Poul Anderson represented on this list, with the honorees seeming to skew younger than either the Hugo or Nebula Awards. I suspect this is because the polling group for the Locus Awards is generally younger than the voters for the other awards, but that is just speculation on my part.

1973: The Gold at the Starbow's End by Frederik Pohl
1974: The Death of Doctor Island by Gene Wolfe
1975: Born with the Dead by Robert Silverberg
1976: The Storms of Windhaven by Lisa Tuttle and George R.R. Martin
1977: The Samurai and the Willows by Michael Bishop
1978: Stardance by Spider Robinson and Jeanne Robinson
1979: The Persistence of Vision by John Varley
1980: Enemy Mine by Barry B. Longyear
1981: Nightflyers by George R.R. Martin
1982: Blue Champagne by John Varley
1983: Souls by Joanna Russ
1984: Her Habiline Husband by Michael Bishop
1985: PRESS ENTER[] by John Varley
1986: The Only Neat Thing to Do by James Tiptree, Jr.
1987: R & R by Lucius Shepard
1988: The Secret Sharer by Robert Silverberg
1989: The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter by Lucius Shepard
1990: The Father of Stones by Lucius Shepard
1991: A Short, Sharp Shock by Kim Stanley Robinson
1992: The Gallery of His Dreams by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
1993: Barnacle Bill the Spacer by Lucius Shepard
1994: Mefisto in Onyx by Harlan Ellison
1995: Forgiveness Day by Ursula K. Le Guin
1996: Remake by Connie Willis
1997: Bellwether by Connie Willis
1998: Where Angels Fear to Tread by Allen M. Steele
1999: Oceanic by Greg Egan
2000: Orphans of the Helix by Dan Simmons
2001: Radiant Green Star by Lucius Shepard
2002: The Finder by Ursula K. Le Guin
2003: The Tain by China MiƩville
2004: The Cookie Monster by Vernor Vinge
2005: Golden City Far by Gene Wolfe
2006: Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
2007: Missile Gap by Charles Stross
2008: After the Siege by Cory Doctorow
2009: Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link
2010: The Women of Nell Gwynne's by Kage Baker
2011: The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang
2012: Silently and Very Fast by Catherynne M. Valente
2013: After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress
2014: Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente
2015: Yesterday’s Kin by Nancy Kress
2016: Slow Bullets by Alastair Reynolds
2017: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
2018: All Systems Red by Martha Wells
2019: Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment