Friday, February 6, 1970

Locus Award Winners for Best Collection

The Locus Award for Best Collection is intended to honor compilations of short stories by one author. This is in contrast to the award for Best Anthology, which honors multi-author compilations of short fiction. This is a moderately odd award because it has been more or less dominated by Ursula K. Le Guin, John Varley, and Fritz Lieber. These three are all fine authors, but are by no means the "big names" in the field of genre fiction. In contrast, due to exigencies of timing and other considerations, this award has never been bestowed upon a collection of fiction by Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Arthur C. Clarke, or Robert Heinlein, despite those four authors' reputations as masters of short fiction.

1975: The Best of Fritz Leiber by Fritz Leiber
1976: The Wind's Twelve Quarters by Ursula K. Le Guin
1977: A Song for Lya and Other Stories by George R.R. Martin
1979: The Persistence of Vision by John Varley
1980: Convergent Series by Larry Niven
1981: The Barbie Murders by John Varley
1982: Sandkings by George R.R. Martin
1983: The Compass Rose by Ursula K. Le Guin
1984: Unicorn Variations by Roger Zelazny
1985: The Ghost Light by Fritz Leiber
1986: Skeleton Crew by Stephen King
1987: Blue Champagne by John Varley
1988: The Jaguar Hunter by Lucius Shepard
1989: Angry Candy by Harlan Ellison
1990: Patterns by Pat Cadigan
1991: Maps in a Mirror: The Short Fiction of Orson Scott Card by Orson Scott Card
1992: Night of the Cooters: More Neat Stories by Howard Waldrop
1993: The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume 1: Secret Sharers by Robert Silverberg
1994: Impossible Things by Connie Willis
1995: Otherness by David Brin
1996: Four Ways to Forgiveness by Ursula K. Le Guin
1997: None So Blind by Joe Haldeman
1998: Slippage by Harlan Ellison
1999: The Avram Davidson Treasury by Avram Davidson, edited by Robert Silverberg and Grania Davis
2000: The Martians by Kim Stanley Robinson
2001: Tales of Old Earth by Michael Swanwick
2002: Tales from Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
2003: Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang
2004: Changing Planes by Ursula K. Le Guin
2005: The John Varley Reader by John Varley
2006: Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
2007: Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman
2008: The Winds of Marble Arch and Other Stories by Connie Willis
2009: Pump Six and Other Stories by Paolo Bacigalupi
2010: The Best of Gene Wolfe (aka The Very Best of Gene Wolfe) by Gene Wolfe
2011: Fritz Leiber: Selected Stories by Fritz Leiber
2012: The Bible Repairman and Other Stories by Tim Powers
2013: Shoggoths in Bloom by Elizabeth Bear
2014: The Best of Connie Willis by Connie Willis
2015: Last Plane to Heaven by Jay Lake
2016: Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman
2017: The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu
2018: Ursula K. Le Guin: The Hainish Novels and Stories by Ursula K. Le Guin
2019: How Long 'til Black Future Month? by N.K. Jemisin

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment