Monday, February 2, 1970

Nebula Award Winners for Best Novella

The Nebula Award for Best Novella is one of the original awards bestowed by the Nebula voters, and has been awarded every year since the inception of the Nebulas. As with the Nebula Award for Best Novel, there is some overlap with the Hugo winners in this category, although divergence is more common with this award. One interesting piece of trivia is that the first woman to win a Nebula award won in this category when Anne McCaffrey won in 1969 for her story Dragonrider. Interestingly, Dragonrider was a companion story to her Hugo Award winning tale Weyr Search, which was the story that made her the first woman to win a Hugo Award.

1966: (tie) He Who Shapes by Roger Zelazny
          (tie) The Saliva Tree by Brian W. Aldiss
1967: The Last Castle by Jack Vance
1968: Behold the Man by Michael Moorcock
1969: Dragonrider by Anne McCaffrey
1970: A Boy and His Dog by Harlan Ellison
1971: Ill Met in Lankhmar by Fritz Leiber (reviewed in The Hugo Winners, Volume 3, Book 1)
1972: The Missing Man by Katherine MacLean
1973: A Meeting with Medusa by Arthur C. Clarke
1974: The Death of Doctor Island by Gene Wolfe
1975: Born with the Dead by Robert Silverberg
1976: Home Is the Hangman by Roger Zelazny
1977: Houston, Houston, Do You Read? by James Tiptree, Jr.
1978: Stardance by Spider Robinson and Jeanne Robinson
1979: The Persistence of Vision by John Varley
1980: Enemy Mine by Barry B. Longyear
1981: Unicorn Tapestry by Suzy McKee Charnas
1982: The Saturn Game by Poul Anderson
1983: Another Orphan by John Kessel
1984: Hardfought by Greg Bear
1985: PRESS ENTER [] by John Varley
1986: Sailing to Byzantium by Robert Silverberg
1987: R & R by Lucius Shepard
1988: The Blind Geometer by Kim Stanley Robinson
1989: The Last of the Winnebagos by Connie Willis
1990: The Mountains of Mourning by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991: The Hemingway Hoax by Joe Haldeman
1992: Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress
1993: City of Truth by James Morrow
1994: The Night We Buried Road Dog by Jack Cady (reviewed in Fantasy & Science Fiction: Volume 116, No. 2 (February 2009))
1995: Seven Views of Olduvai Gorge by Mike Resnick
1996: Last Summer at Mars Hill by Elizabeth Hand
1997: Da Vinci Rising by Jack Dann
1998: Abandon in Place by Jerry Oltion
1999: Reading the Bones by Sheila Finch
2000: Story of Your Life by Ted Chiang
2001: Goddesses by Linda Nagata
2002: The Ultimate Earth by Jack Williamson
2003: Bronte's Egg by Richard Chwedyk
2004: Coraline by Neil Gaiman
2005: The Green Leopard Plague by Walter Jon Williams
2006: Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
2007: Burn by James Patrick Kelly
2008: Fountain of Age by Nancy Kress
2009: The Spacetime Pool by Catherine Asaro
2010: The Women of Nell Gwynne's by Kage Baker
2011: The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queen’s Window by Rachel Swirsky
2012: The Man Who Bridged the Mist by Kij Johnson
2013: After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress
2014: The Weight of the Sunrise by Vylar Kaftan
2015: Yesterday's Kin by Nancy Kress
2016: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
2017: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
2018: All Systems Red by Martha Wells
2019: The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard
2020: TBD

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment