Sunday, February 1, 1970

Hugo Award Winners for Best Novella

The Hugo Award for Best Novella was first awarded in 1968, and has been awarded every year since. The Hugo Awards bestowed in this category for the years before 1968 were all granted as "retroactive" awards, handed out many years later. The Hugo Awards define a novella as a work of fiction that is between 17,500 and 40,000 words long.

Clicking on the year will take you to a page listing all of the nominees for the Hugo Award for that year. Three novellas have been awarded "Retro Hugos", and are listed here in red, with the year the award was actually given noted in parenthesis.

1939: Who Goes There? by John W. Campbell, Jr. (writing as Don A. Stuart) (awarded in 2014)
1941: If This Goes On . . . by Robert A. Heinlein (awarded in 2016)
1943: Waldo by Robert A. Heinlein (reviewed in The Fantasies of Robert A. Heinlein) (awarded in 2018)
1944: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (awarded in 2019)
1945: Killdozer! by Theodore Sturgeon (awarded in 2020)
1946: Animal Farm by George Orwell (awarded in 1996)
1951: The Man Who Sold the Moon by Robert A. Heinlein (awarded in 2001)
1954: A Case of Conscience by James Blish (awarded in 2004)
1968: (tie) Riders of the Purple Wage by Philip José Farmer (reviewed in More Stories from the Hugo Winners, Volume II)
          (tie) Weyr Search by Anne McCaffrey (reviewed in More Stories from the Hugo Winners, Volume II)
1970: Ship of Shadows by Fritz Leiber (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3, Book 1)
1971: Ill Met in Lankhmar by Fritz Leiber (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3, Book 1)
1972: The Queen of Air and Darkness by Poul Anderson (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3, Book 1)
1973: The Word for World Is Forest by Ursula K. Le Guin (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3, Book 2)
1974: The Girl Who Was Plugged In by James Tiptree, Jr. (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3, Book 2)
1976: Home Is the Hangman by Roger Zelazny
1977: (tie) By Any Other Name by Spider Robinson
          (tie) Houston, Houston, Do You Read? by James Tiptree, Jr.
1978: Stardance by Spider Robinson and Jeanne Robinson
1979: The Persistence of Vision by John Varley
1980: Enemy Mine by Barry B. Longyear
1981: Lost Dorsai by Gordon R. Dickson
1982: The Saturn Game by Poul Anderson
1983: Souls by Joanna Russ
1984: Cascade Point by Timothy Zahn
1985: Press ENTER[] by John Varley
1986: 24 Views of Mt. Fuji, by Hokusai by Roger Zelazny
1987: Gilgamesh in the Outback by Robert Silverberg
1988: Eye for Eye by Orson Scott Card
1989: The Last of the Winnebagos by Connie Willis
1990: The Mountains of Mourning by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991: The Hemingway Hoax by Joe Haldeman
1992: Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress
1993: Barnacle Bill the Spacer by Lucius Shepard
1994: Down in the Bottomlands by Harry Turtledove
1995: Seven Views of Olduvai Gorge by Mike Resnick
1996: The Death of Captain Future by Allen M. Steele
1997: Blood of the Dragon by George R.R. Martin
1998: . . . Where Angels Fear to Tread by Allen M. Steele
1999: Oceanic by Greg Egan
2000: The Winds of Marble Arch by Connie Willis
2001: The Ultimate Earth by Jack Williamson
2002: Fast Times at Fairmont High by Vernor Vinge
2003: Coraline by Neil Gaiman
2004: The Cookie Monster by Vernor Vinge
2005: The Concrete Jungle by Charles Stross
2006: Inside Job by Connie Willis
2007: A Billion Eves by Robert Reed
2008: All Seated on the Ground by Connie Willis
2009: The Erdmann Nexus by Nancy Kress
2010: Palimpsest by Charles Stross
2011: The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang
2012: The Man Who Bridged the Mist by Kij Johnson
2013: The Emperor's Soul by Brandon Sanderson
2014: Equoid by Charles Stross
2015: No Award
2016: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
2018: All Systems Red by Martha Wells
2019: Artificial Condition by Martha Wells
2020: This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment