Friday, February 6, 1970

Locus Award Winners for Best First Novel

The Locus Award for Best First Novel was first awarded in 1981, spawned during what appears to have been a reorganization of the awards during the late 1970s and early 1980s that also saw the Best Novel award split into the Best Science Fiction Novel and Best Fantasy Novel categories.

1981: Dragon's Egg by Robert L. Forward
1982: Starship & Haiku by Somtow Sucharitkul
1983: Courtship Rite by Donald Kingsbury
1984: Tea with the Black Dragon by R.A. MacAvoy
1985: The Wild Shore by Kim Stanley Robinson
1986: Contact by Carl Sagan
1987: The Hercules Text by Jack McDevitt
1988: War for the Oaks by Emma Bull
1989: Desolation Road by Ian McDonald
1990: Orbital Decay by Allen M. Steele
1991: In the Country of the Blind by Michael F. Flynn
1992: The Cipher by Kathe Koja
1993: China Mountain Zhang by Maureen F. McHugh
1994: Cold Allies by Patricia Anthony
1995: Gun, with Occasional Music by Jonathan Lethem
1996: The Bohr Maker by Linda Nagata
1997: (tie) Reclamation by Sarah Zettel
          (tie) Whiteout by Sage Walker
1998: The Great Wheel by Ian R. MacCleod
1999: Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson
2000: The Silk Code by Paul Levinson
2001: Mars Crossing by Geoffrey A. Landis
2002: Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey
2003: A Scattering of Jades by Alexander C. Irvine
2004: Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom by Cory Doctorow
2005: Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
2006: Hammered, Scardown, and Worldwired by Elizabeth Bear
2007: His Majesty's Dragon, Throne of Jade, and Black Powder War by Naomi Novik
2008: Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill
2009: Singularity's Ring by Paul Melko
2010: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
2011: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
2012: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
2013: Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed
2014: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
2015: The Memory Garden by Mary Rickert
2016: The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu
2017: Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee
2018: The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss
2019: Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment