Monday, February 2, 1970

Nebula Award Winners for Best Novelette

As with the other literary honors handed out by the Nebula Awards, the award for Best Novelette has been given in every year since 1966. This award honors works of science fiction or fantasy of between 7,500 and 17,500 words in length, which is a definition that is very slightly different from the definition used by the Hugo Award. Though there was significant overlap between the stories honored by this award and the stories honored by comparable Hugo Awards, the overlap appears to have become less and less as time has gone on, perhaps reflecting the more "literary" nature of this award as opposed to the more "popular" nature of the Hugo Awards.

1966: The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth by Roger Zelazny
1967: Call Him Lord by Gordon R. Dickson
1968: Gonna Roll the Bones by Fritz Leiber (reviewed in More Stories from the Hugo Winners, Volume II
1969: Mother to the World by Richard Wilson
1970: Time Considered as a Helix of Semi-Precious Stones by Samuel R. Delany (reviewed in More Stories from the Hugo Winners, Volume II)
1972: The Queen of Air and Darkness by Poul Anderson (reviewed in The Hugo Winners: Volume 3: Book 1)
1974: Of Mist, and Grass, and Sand by Vonda N. McIntyre
1975: If the Stars Are Gods by Gordon Eklund and Gregory Benford
1976: San Diego Lightfoot Sue by Tom Reamy
1977: The Bicentennial Man by Isaac Asimov
1978: The Screwfly Solution by Raccoona Sheldon
1979: A Glow of Candles, a Unicorn's Eye by Charles L. Grant
1980: Sandkings by George R.R. Martin
1981: The Ugly Chickens by Howard Waldrop
1982: The Quickening by Michael Bishop
1983: Fire Watch by Connie Willis
1984: Blood Music by Greg Bear
1985: Bloodchild by Octavia E. Butler
1986: Portraits of His Children by George R.R. Martin
1987: The Girl Who Fell into the Sky by Kate Wilhelm
1988: Rachel in Love by Pat Murphy
1989: Schrödinger's Kitten by George Alec Effinger
1990: At the Rialto by Connie Willis
1991: Tower of Babylon by Ted Chiang
1992: Guide Dog by Mike Conner
1993: Danny Goes to Mars by Pamela Sargent
1994: Georgia on My Mind by Charles Sheffield
1995: The Martian Child by David Gerrold
1996: Solitude by Ursula K. Le Guin
1997: Lifeboat on a Burning Sea by Bruce Holland Rogers
1998: The Flowers of Aulit Prison by Nancy Kress
1999: Lost Girls by Jane Yolen
2000: Mars Is No Place for Children by Mary A. Turzillo
2001: Daddy's World by Walter Jon Williams
2002: Louise's Ghost by Kelly Link
2003: Hell is the Absence of God by Ted Chiang
2004: The Empire of Ice Cream by Jeffrey Ford
2005: Basement Magic by Ellen Klages
2006: The Faery Handbag by Kelly Link
2007: Two Hearts by Peter S. Beagle
2008: The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate by Ted Chiang
2009: Pride and Prometheus by John Kessel
2010: Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast by Eugie Foster
2012: What We Found by Geoff Ryman
2013: Close Encounters by Andy Duncan
2014: The Waiting Stars by Aliette de Bodard (reviewed in 2014 Hugo Voting - Best Novelette)
2015: A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai'i by Alaya Dawn Johnson
2016: Our Lady of the Open Road by Sarah Pinsker
2017: The Long Fall Up by William Ledbetter
2018: A Human Stain by Kelly Robson
2019: The Only Harmless Great Thing by Brooke Bolander
2020: TBD

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment