Wednesday, February 4, 1970

World Fantasy Award Winners for Best Novella

For unclear reasons the World Fantasy Awards did not include a Best Novella category until 1982, even though all of the other major genre awards in existence when the World Fantasy awards were created did have a novella category (not only that, the Hugo awards also had a Novelette category). No matter the reason for leaving this category out from 1976-1982, this omission was corrected in 1983, and the category has been awarded at every World Fantasy Convention since then.

1982: The Fire When It Comes by Parke Godwin
1983: (tie) Beyond Any Measure by Karl Edward Wagner
          (tie) Confess the Seasons by Charles L. Grant
1984: Black Air by Kim Stanley Robinson
1985: The Unconquered Country by Geoff Ryman
1986: Nadelman's God by T.E.D. Klein
1987: Hatrack River by Orson Scott Card
1988: Buffalo Gals, Won't You Come Out Tonight by Ursula K. Le Guin
1989: The Skin Trade by George R.R. Martin
1990: Great Work of Time by John Crowley
1991: Bones by Pat Murphy
1992: The Ragthorn by Robert Holdstock and Garry Kilworth
1993: The Ghost Village by Peter Straub
1994: Under the Crust by Terry Lamsley
1995: Last Summer at Mars Hill by Elizabeth Hand
1996: Radio Waves by Michael Swanwick
1997: A City in Winter by Mark Helprin
1998: Streetcar Dreams by Richard Bowes
1999: The Summer Isles by Ian R. MacLeod
2000: (tie) The Transformation of Martin Lake by Jeff VanderMeer
          (tie) Sky Eyes by Laurel Winter
2001: The Man on the Ceiling by Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem
2002: The Bird Catcher by S.P. Somtow
2003: The Library by Zoran Zivkovic
2004: A Crowd of Bone by Greer Gilman
2005: The Growlimb by Michael Shea
2006: Voluntary Committal by Joe Hill
2007: Botch Town by Jeffrey Ford
2008: Illyria by Elizabeth Hand
2009: If Angels Fight by Richard Bowes
2010: Sea-Hearts by Margo Lanagan
2011: The Maiden Flight of McCauley's Bellerophon by Elizabeth Hand (reviewed in Errantry: Strange Stories)
2012: A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong by K.J. Parker
2013: Let Maps to Others by K.J. Parker
2014: Wakulla Springs by Andy Duncan and Ellen Klages
2015: We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
2016: The Unlicensed Magician by Kelly Barnhill
2017: The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe by Kij Johnson
2018: Passing Strange by Ellen Klages
2019: The Privilege of the Happy Ending by Kij Johnson

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment