Monday, February 2, 1970

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation Winners

The Ray Bradbury Award is something of an odd duck. It is not technically a Nebula Award, but it is presented at the Nebula Award ceremony, and the rules governing  eligibility for and voting on the award are identical to those used for the Nebula Awards. In 2009, the Nebula Award for Best Script/Dramatic Presentation was eliminated, and this award was designated to replace it. In effect, this award is a Nebula Award in all but name. Why the SFWA doesn't simply call it a Nebula Award is something of a mystery. Perhaps they want to preserve the purity of the Nebula Awards as a literary award. I simply don't know.

The award is generally handed out for a specific work usually a movie or a single episode of a television program, although in 1999 the award was bestowed upon J. Michael Straczynski for the entire run of the Babylon 5 television series. In 2008 the award was handed to Joss Weedon for his entire body of work, which at the time primarily consisted of the Buffy the Vampire Slayer series, the Angel series, the Firefly series, and the Serenity movie, although he was a credited screenwriter on several other films and had written several comic books.

1992: Terminator 2
1999: Babylon 5
2001: 2000X - Tales of the Next Millennia
2008: Joss Weedon
2010: District 9
2011: Inception
2012: Doctor Who: The Doctor's Wife
2013: Beasts of the Southern Wild
2014: Gravity
2015: Guardians of the Galaxy
2016: Mad Max: Fury Road
2017: Arrival
2018: Get Out
2019: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
2020: TBD

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment