Sunday, February 1, 1970

Hugo Award Winners for Best Series

In 2017, after much wrangling over the specifics of how such an award would work, the World Science Fiction Society introduced the Hugo Award for Best Series. Predictably, Lois McMaster Bujold immediately won the award for her Vorkosigan Saga. And then she won it again in 2018 for her World of Five Gods series. As good as Bujold's work is, the award really needs to go to someone else in future years or this category runs the risk of simply becoming the "let's give Bujold a Hugo again" category.

Although it was not technically the same award, I have included the win for Best All-Time Series awarded in 1966 in this list on the grounds that this was the spiritual ancestor of the current version of the award. That award was won by Asimov's Foundation series, which beat out some pretty stiff competition - which was made more difficult than normal for a Hugo by what appear to have been some extremely open-ended rules for what would qualify as a finalist. In any event, I've listed it here because I think it should be, even if the official records don't agree with me.

1945: The Cthulhu Mythos by H.P. Lovecraft, August Derleth, and others (awarded in 2020)
1966: Foundation series by Isaac Asimov (first novel in series: Foundation)
2017: The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold
2018: World of the Five Gods by Lois McMaster Bujold
2019: Wayfarers by Becky Chambers

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment