Wednesday, February 4, 1970

World Fantasy Award Winners for Best Anthology or Collection

The Best Collection Award was created in 1975, at the same time as the other World Fantasy Awards. In 1977 this category was expanded to include anthologies, giving rise to this category. From 1977 through 1987, the World Fantasy awards included a category for Best Anthology or Collection, covering both single author and multi-author compilations of short fiction. This resulted in several very good winners, but in 1988, the Best Anthology portion of the award was spun off into its own category splitting this category into two separate awards.

1977: Frights edited by Kirby McCauley
1978: Murgunstrumm and Others by Hugh B. Cave
1979: Shadows edited by Charles L. Grant
1980: Amazons! edited by Jessica Amanda Salmonson
1981: Dark Forces edited by Kirby McCauley
1982: Elsewhere edited by Terri Windling and Mark Alan Arnold
1983: Nightmare Seasons edited by Charles L. Grant
1984: High Spirits by Robertson Davies
1985: Clive Barker's Books of Blood, Volumes I-III by Clive Barker
1986: Imaginary Lands edited by Robin McKinley
1987: Tales of the Quintana Roo by James Tiptree, Jr.

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment