Wednesday, February 4, 1970

World Fantasy Award Winners for Best Collection

In 1975, when the World Fantasy Awards were created, the designers made a decision that would set these awards apart from the other major awards in existence like the Hugos and the Nebulas. Like those other awards they included categories to honor individual works of short fiction, but unlike those awards they included a category to honor collections of short fiction, something that no other award to that point had done.

This award was given in 1975 and 1976. It was then expanded to include anthologies, and the combined category was honored until 1987, when the anthology portion was moved to its own category. In 1988, the Best Collection category was returned to its original configuration and has been awarded from that point to the present.

1975: Worse Things Waiting by Manly Wade Wellman
1976: The Enquiries of Doctor Eszterhazy by Avram Davidson
1988: The Jaguar Hunter by Lucius Shepard
1989: (tie) Angry Candy by Harlan Ellison
          (tie) Storeys from the Old Hotel by Gene Wolfe
1990: Richard Matheson: Collected Stories by Richard Matheson
1991: The Start of the End of It All and Other Stories by Carol Emshwiller
1992: The Ends of the Earth by Lucius Shepard
1993: The Sons of Noah & Other Stories by Jack Cady
1994: Alone with the Horrors by Ramsey Campbell
1995: The Calvin Coolidge Home for Dead Comedians and A Conflagration Artist by Bradley Denton
1996: Seven Tales and a Fable by Gwyneth Jones
1997: The Wall of the Sky, the Wall of the Eye by Jonathan Lethem
1998: The Throne of Bones by Brian McNaughton
1999: Black Glass by Karen Joy Fowler
2000: (tie) Reave the Just and Other Tales by Stephen R. Donaldson
          (tie) Moonlight and Vines by Charles de Lint
2001: Beluthahatchie and Other Stories by Andy Duncan
2002: Skin Folk by Nalo Hopkinson
2003: The Fantasy Writer's Assistant and Other Stories by Jeffrey Ford
2004: Bibliomancy by Elizabeth Hand
2005: Black Juice by Margo Lanagan
2006: The Keyhole Opera by Bruce Holland Rogers
2007: Map of Dreams by M. Rickert
2008: Tiny Deaths by Robert Shearman
2009: The Drowned Life by Jeffrey Ford
2010: (tie) The Very Best of Gene Wolfe/The Best of Gene Wolfe by Gene Wolfe
          (tie) There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried To Kill Her Neighbor's Baby: Scary Fairy Tales by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya
2011What I Didn't See and Other Stories by Karen Joy Fowler
2012: The Bible Repairman and Other Stories by Tim Powers
2013: Where Furnaces Burn by Joel Lane
2014: The Ape's Wife and Other Stories by CaitlĂ­n R. Kiernan
2015: (tie) The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings by Angela Slatter
          (tie) Gifts for the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
2016: Bone Swans by C.S.E. Cooney
2017: A Natural History of Hell by Jeffrey Ford
2018: The Emerald Circus by Jane Yolen
2019: The Tangled Lands by Paolo Bacigalupi and Tobias S. Buckell

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment