Wednesday, February 4, 1970

World Fantasy Award Winners for Best Anthology

In 1988 the Best Anthology or Collection category was split into two categories, the Best Collection category, and this one. This award promptly returned a tied result in that year, and as seems typical for the World Fantasy Awards, this award has had two tie results since then. Although this award has not been dominated by any one author like the Locus Award for best Anthology has been dominated by Gardner Dozois, it seems like you have a leg up in winning this award if your name is Ellen Datlow.

1988: (tie) The Dark Descent edited by David G. Hartwell
          (tie) The Architecture of Fear edited by Kathryn Cramer and Peter D. Pautz
1989: The Year's Best Fantasy: First Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
1990: The Year's Best Fantasy: Second Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
1991: Best New Horror edited by Stephen Jones and Ramsey Campbell
1992: The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fourth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
1993: MetaHorror edited by Dennis Etchison
1994: Full Spectrum 4 edited by Lou Aronica, Amy Stout, and Betsy Mitchell
1995: Little Deaths edited by Ellen Datlow
1996: The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women edited by A. Susan Williams and Richard Glyn Jones
1997: Starlight 1 edited by Patrick Nielsen Hayden
1998: Bending the Landscape: Fantasy edited by Nicola Griffith and Stephen Pagel
1999: Dreaming Down-Under edited by Jack Dann and Janeen Webb
2000: Silver Birch, Blood Moon edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
2001: Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora edited by Sheree R. Thomas
2002: The Museum of Horrors edited by Dennis Etchison
2003: (tie) Leviathan, Volume Three edited by Jeff VanderMeer and Forrest Aguirre
          (tie) The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
2004: Strange Tales edited by Rosalie Parker
2005: (tie) Acquainted with the Night edited by Barbara Roden and Christopher Roden
          (tie) Dark Matter: Reading the Bones edited by Sheree R. Thomas
2006: The Fair Folk edited by Marvin Kaye
2007: Salon Fantastique edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
2008: Inferno edited by Ellen Datlow
2009: Paper Cities: An Anthology of Urban Fantasy edited by Ekaterina Sedia
2010: American Fantastic Tales: Terror and the Uncanny: From Poe to the Pulps/From the 1940s to Now edited by Peter Straub
2011: My Mother, She Killed Me, My Father, He Ate Me edited by Kate Bernheimer
2012: The Weird edited by Ann VanderMeer and Jeff VanderMeer
2013: Postscripts #28/#29: Exotic Gothic 4 edited by Danel Olson
2014: Dangerous Women edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois
2015: Monstrous Affections edited by Gavin J. Grant and Kelly Link
2016: She Walks in Shadows edited by Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Paula R. Stiles
2017: Dreaming in the Dark edited by Jack Dann
2018: The New Voices of Fantasy edited by Peter S. Beagle and Jacob Weisman
2019: Worlds Seen in Passing: Ten Years of Short Fiction edited by Irene Gallo

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment