Sunday, February 8, 1970

Mythopoeic Award Winners for Best Adult Fantasy Literature

The Mythopoeic Award for Best Adult Fantasy Literature was one of the initial categories established by the Mythopoeic Society. It was awarded from 1971 through 1976, dropped for four years, and then brought back in 1981. It has been awarded in every year since 1981.

This award is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume series, or single-author story collection intended for adults and published during the previous year that the selection committee determines best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". This award differs from many other genre awards because books not selected as finalists in the first year after publication are eligible to be nominated in their second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume is published.

1971: The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart
1972: Red Moon and Black Mountain by Joy Chant
1973: The Song of Rhiannon by Evangeline Walton
1974: The Hollow Hills by Mary Stewart
1975: A Midsummer Tempest by Poul Anderson
1981: Unfinished Tales by J.R.R. Tolkien, edited by Christopher Tolkien
1982: Little, Big by John Crowley
1983: The Firelings by Carol Kendall
1984: When Voiha Wakes by Joy Chant
1985: Cards of Grief by Jane Yolen
1986: Bridge of Birds by Barry Hughart
1987: The Folk of the Air by Peter S. Beagle
1988: Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card
1989: Unicorn Mountain by Michael Bishop
1990: The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers
1991: Thomas the Rhymer by Ellen Kushner
1992: A Woman of the Iron People by Eleanor Arnason
1993: Briar Rose by Jane Yolen
1994: The Porcelain Dove by Delia Sherman
1995: Something Rich and Strange by Patricia A. McKillip
1996: Waking the Moon by Elizabeth Hand
1997: The Wood Wife by Terri Windling
1998: The Djinn in the Nightingale's Eye by A.S. Byatt
1999: Stardust by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess
2000: Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle
2001: The Innamorati by Midori Snyder
2002: The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold
2003: Ombria in Shadow by Patricia A. McKillip
2004: Sunshine by Robin McKinley
2005: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
2006: Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
2007: Solstice Wood by Patricia A. McKillip
2008: Orphan's Tales series (In the Night Garden, and In the Cities of Coin and Spice) by Catherynne M. Valente
2009: Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone by Carol Berg
2010: Lifelode by Jo Walton
2011: Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord
2012: The Uncertain Places by Lisa Goldstein
2013: Digger (Volumes 1-6) by Ursula Vernon
2014: The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
2015: Tales from Rugosa Coven by Sarah Avery
2016: Uprooted by Naomi Novik
2017: Kingfisher by Patricia A. McKillip
2018: Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr by John Crowley
2019: Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment